Voters will decide a few contested races for city council and school board positions in Miami County, as well as the Paola mayoral race.

But those races will not be decided until the Nov. 5 general election. The filing deadline was June 3, and the final roster of candidates indicated an August primary would not be required to whittle the field in any of the contested races.

The following is a list of candidates who filed for each mayor, city council and school board position up for election. An (I) after a name indicates the candidate is either the elected incumbent or a person appointed to fill the remainder of a vacated term.



Mayor: Artie Stuteville (I), Bobby Knudsen;

Council Precinct 1: David Smail (I), Scott Shappell;

Council Precinct 3: Leigh House (I).


Council Precinct 1: Kalee Smith (I), Travis Thompson, Dusti Travis;

Council Precinct 2: Lee Baer (I), Donna Cook.


Mayor: Mark Govea (I);

Council Precinct 1: Lawrence Dickinson (I);

Council Precinct 2: Dan Macek (I);

Council Precinct 3: Karen LaDuex (I);

Council Precinct 4: Cathy Leaver (I).

Spring Hill

Three at-large council seats: Six candidates have filed to fill three at-large seats. The candidates are Andrea Hughes (I), Floyd Koder (I), Rodolfo Arevalo, Steven Boswell, Tyler Graves, Steve Owen.


Mayor: Paula Hambleton (I);

Two at-large council seats: Kevin Reicheneker (I), James Schroff.

School Board Paola USD 368

Position 1: Cathy McFarlane (I);

Position 3: Tim Kelley (I), Carla Blackmore;

Position 5: Randy Rausch (I);

At-large: Amanda Martell (I).

Louisburg USD 416

Position 1: Robert Vohs (I);

Position 2: Lanny Smith (I);

Position 3: Bruce Caldwell (I), Linda Hipp;

At-large: Jacob Vickrey (I)

Osawatomie USD 367

Position 1: Tammy Booe (I);

Position 2: D.J. Needham (I);

Position 3: Josh Barnett;

At-large: Kristal Powell (I), Kevin Schasteen, Ben Wendt.

Spring Hill USD 230

Position 1: Brent Hoffman (I);

Position 2: Nels Anderson (I);

Position 3: Douglas Updike (I);

At-large: Nicholas Hunt (I), Scott Oberkrom, Ali Seeling.

An August primary is not needed because it is only necessary if more than three candidates are vying for one seated position. In the case of the three at-large seats for Spring Hill City Council, the top three vote-getters from the field of six candidates will win those seats.

The only Aug. 6 primary race affecting Miami County voters will be a Blue Valley USD 229 board seat, Position 3, which has four candidates. According to the Miami County Clerk’s Office, 36 registered voters who reside in Miami County are eligible to vote for this school board position. Candidates for Blue Valley school board file in Johnson County.

The deadline to register to vote is Oct. 15 for the Nov. 5 general election, according to the county clerk’s office.

News Editor Doug Carder can be reached at (913) 294-2311 or doug.carder@miconews.com.

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.